N.Y. Jets Tight End Amaro making strides before Camp

New York Jets training camp in Cortland, N.Y. is set to begin on July 23.

image

N.Y. Jets Tight Ends Amaro and Cumberland

Jace Amaro, the New York Jets rookie tight end says, “I plan on getting it done,” and to that end Amaro has been learning the playbook.

Jace has sat with rookie quarterback Tajh Boyd while they ate and studied. Boyd would call out a play and quiz Amaro on his assignment.

“He would just throw different plays out there,” Amaro said of Boyd.

Amaro spends hours each night studying his plays alone his room, “going to bed with all of that stuff in my head, It’s working out for me pretty well. Since whenever that first time I came out and didn’t have a very good day, I feel like I’ve taken some really big strides since then,”

“hours and hours of looking at the plays and memorizing them. It’s just one of those things where it just takes a lot of reps and just a lot of studying.”

Coaches stated Amaro “Thought too much” during OTA’s and expressed frustration about his struggles to learn the offense.

Amaro’s college offense at Texas Tech was an up-tempo spread system with straight forward play calls while the Jets’ and OC-Marty Mornhinweg use a form of the West Coast offense, a pro-style scheme that is more complex.

“That was the first week of OTAs, and that was one of the more heavy playbook days. It was just one of those things where I knew I’m not going to be perfect out here and I’m going to make mistakes. That’s what this period of practice is for, is to get ready for training camp and make sure you’re fundamentally sound on all the playbook stuff. Right now, I feel really good about it.”

“I just know the whole playbook now, and I know exactly what I need to do on every single play. It’s just a lot more relaxing out there. I can read the defense and I can see who I expect is going to guard me on a certain play. I feel a lot better about it. That’s probably the biggest thing. I know what I can do and what my game is. That’s all going to come along. The mental part about it and the playbook part about it is the biggest thing.”

“It just took a lot of motivation,” Amaro said.

Tight ends coach Steve Hagen has said he did not feel like Amaro was behind in learning the offense, and that Amaro just needed to overcome the “language barrier” of understanding the Jets’ terminology.

Moreover, Hagen said, the Jets’ coaches challenged Amaro by lining him up all over the offensive formation during OTAs.

It will be a challenging rookie year for Amaro as Fans and coaches alike have big expectations for him.

About MedicFL1

Avid NEW YORK JETS fan & Blogger. Prof.Paramedic, Defense Contract Manager,USMC
This entry was posted in New York JETS and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

