Fitzpatrick betrayed by Jets

Fitzpatrick returns as the Jets starting quarterback as Geno Smith tears ACL. BUT…

Ryan Fitzpatrick left nothing to the imagination when he stated:

“The biggest thing in this game in order to last, is to have belief in yourself,” Fitzpatrick said. 

“Because when the owner stops believing in you and the GM stops believing in you and the coaches stop believing in you, sometimes all you have is yourself. That’s something that I’ve had to deal with before. That’s something I’m dealing with now.”

“I probably play better as an underdog pissed off,” Fitzpatrick said. “So going forward, yeah, I’ll be pissed off.”


Fitzpatrick went 9-for-14 for 120 yards and a touchdown to keep the Jets (2-5) 

Smith (4-for-8, 95 yards, including Quincy Enunwa’s 69-yard catch and run for a touchdown) a +8 catch and 61 yard run clocked at 21.33 mph. (YAC)

Geno Smith suffered a torn ACL Sunday revealed post MRI on Monday, his season as well as his career, may be over.

“I keep telling him to get rid of the football, but he won’t listen to me,” Sheldon Richardson said  “Told him I sack a lot of quarterbacks. You’d think he’d listen to me.”

“I don’t know what decision they’re going to make,” Fitzpatrick said. “But, yeah, I think I should start every week.”

Fitzpatrick turned a 13-7 deficit into a 14-13 lead after engineering a seven-play, 85-yard drive capped by his 13-yard touchdown to Matt Forte on his first possession late in the first half.

“He takes control of the huddle,” said Forte, who had 154 total yards and two touchdowns. “It looked like he was relaxed. … He came into the huddle and said, ‘What’s up, guys?’ Like he was new or something.”

“There’s strong emotion there for me especially not knowing if that was the last time I was going to be out there as a starter or not,” Fitzpatrick said. “You start to think about some of that stuff. People giving up on you and then having to see them every day.”

“My teammates’ belief in me is a big thing,” Fitzpatrick said. “Their opinion of me (is) what drives me and what matters. I know I still have that belief in the huddle.”

“We’re not done yet,” Fitzpatrick said. “We’re not throwing in the towel.”

“Let me enjoy it for a couple hours before getting into the quarterback controversy,” Brandon Marshall said.

Jets head coach Todd Bowles if pissed off is going stop the turnovers, then I’m more than happy to have him play pissed off.” “I have no problem with him venting his frustrations”.

Ryan Fitzpatrick and Geno Smith are not part of the Jets solution in 2017 or beyond, so beside this season, what’s the plan to get Bryce Petty meaningful reps? 

Just returning to practice one cannot see Petty being considered until after the bye week and after the Patriots game.

Catch our weekly review of the Jets Team Report via our podcast; OneJetDrive Podcast

We don’t tow the company line and analyze from four different viewpoints both as long time fans and past players.

About MedicFL1

Avid NEW YORK JETS fan & Blogger. Prof.Paramedic, Defense Contract Manager,USMC
This entry was posted in New York JETS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.